ISC2 CSSLP-The Premier Secure Software Development Certificate

ISC2 CSSLP-The Premier Secure Software Development Certificate

February 10, 2023 Off By Elma

Cybersecurity threats are increasing in frequency. Malicious hackers are launching a variety of attacks daily, including network intrusions and persistent high-level threats. Software vulnerabilities and threats can have serious security implications for individuals as well as organizations. Software developers can leave loopholes in their source code, which can be a hidden channel or vulnerability for hackers. CSSLP certification will ensure that software developers have the most current knowledge about how to keep their software safe.

Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional – CSSLP is an ISC2 certification that addresses security in the software development lifecycle (SDLC).
The CSSLP certification was created in 2008 for programmers, project managers, IT analysts and engineers involved in the SDLC. The CSSLP certification’s syllabus focuses on application vulnerabilities, risk and compliance issues that arise during the application development process. It is divided into eight domains.
Domains that are certified CSSLP
Secure Software Concepts

Secure Software Requirements

Secure Software Architecture and Design

Secure Software Implementation

Secure Software Testing

Secure Software Lifecycle Management

Secure Software Deployment, Operations, and Maintenance

Secure Software Supply Chain

CSSLP is designed to help applicants demonstrate their application security expertise, be qualified to manage applications vulnerabilities better, and have a working knowledge about application security.
For the CSSLP exam, applicants must possess at least four years of paid full-time experience in at least one of eight CSSLP domains. Alternately, applicants may replace one year of work experience with a four year college degree in a similar field.
The CSSLP exam is four hours long and contains 175 multiple-choice questions. To pass the exam and receive certification, candidates must score at least 700 points out of 1000.
Prerequisites for CSSLP certification
The minimum required experience for applicants is 4 years of cumulative, full-time, paid software development lifecycle (SDLC), professional work experience in one or more of 8 domains in the (ISC]2 CSSLP CBK. Or 3 years of cumulative remunerated, full-time SDLC work experience in one or more domains in the CSSLP CBK.
Candidats without the required experience may be eligible to become CSSLPs by passing the CSSLP examination. The Associate of (ISC2)2 will then have the required four years experience.
Who should obtain a CSSLP certification?
Software Architect

Software Engineer

Penetration Tester

Application Security Specialist

Project Manager

Security Manager

IT Director/Manager

Quality Assurance Tester

After passing the CSSLP exam, you will need to recertify every three year by:
Each year, earn 30 credits in continuing professional education (CPE).
An annual maintenance fee (AMF) is required.
CSSLP Certification: The Advantages
Many organizations have accepted the CSSLP as the preferred certification for gaining security skills in the software development process. Security must be integrated into every stage of the software development lifecycle in today’s interconnected world. The CSSLP CBK is the most comprehensive and extensive collection of best practices, strategies, methods, and other information to implement a security program at all stages of application development.
Looking forward
Software security is an essential element of computing today. The CSSLP certification is a new one, but the organization’s history has been established for over 20 years. The people behind this establishment are confident that they will continue to play an important role in computing for the next 65 years.